Thursday, 11 August 2016 20:14

York Ebor Festival: Juddmonte International 2016

On Wednesday the 17th August it is the annual high status Group One Juddmonte International at York. Ran over a distance of 1 mile, 2 furlongs and 88 yards it is round about the right time of the month to start getting excited for it!


In 2012, the International Federation of Horse Racing Authorities ranked it the best race. Boy was it a great one too with the magnificent Frankel taking that year’s crown. At the time Frankel was the highest rated horse in the world!


Top jumps trainer Willie Mullins has also been reported in the press outlining what he has planned for the racing next week. Horse, Ivan Grozny has been praised for his good form and recent race in Galway and will feature at York.


There is also a slight chance that second place Gold Cup Horse Simenon may feature. Mullins was quoted as saying:


“Simenon has been running well over hurdles. He seems to have found his spark again. He has a nice weight, so we will see nearer the day whether he will take part or not.”


Mullins last won the Ebor in 2009 with Sesenta and last year enjoyed success in the Lonsdale Cup with Max Dynamite. It’s certainly worth keeping an eye on his horses when the betting starts!


Here’s a quick look at past winners of the Juddmonte International :


  1. Arabian Queen 2015 Champion

    1. Was a massive shock winner and rated a mega 50/1.

    2. Foaled: 23rd February 2012

    3. Career earnings: £714,632

    4. Other Major Wins: 2015 Princess Elizabeth Stakes

  2. Australia 2014 Champion

    1. Better known for winning the Epsom Derby the same year

    2. The Juddmonte was (at the time) its toughest race ever but smashed it with both speed and class.

    3. Foaled: 8th April 2011

    4. Career Earnings: £2,090,503

    5. Other Major Wins: 2014 Irish Derby

  3. Declaration of War 2013 Champion

    1. Beat favourites Toronado and Al Kazeem to take the crown.

    2. Foaled: 29th April 2009

    3. Career Earnings: £863,758

    4. Other Major Wins: 2013 Queen Anne Stakes


In the last 3 years the winners have all had decent titles in the same year prior to this race...interesting….who’s your money on folks?